.. And The Infinite Taste for Travel and Infantile Adventures

Double that Jab!

Elorde gym

A week already passed since the destruction of Ricky “The Hitman” Hatton, thanks to the dynamite left and right combination of Manny Pacquiao; I am just so happy as a fight fan seeing how the fight ended up. Being a fan of the sport since a little child, you just know it when someone is just a one hit wonder or one of a kind. In Manny’s case, you just see someone who has the right tools for a fast paced boxing match.

I love classic matches. How nice it was to be a boxing fan back then. In the present tense, I can’t remember how boxing would look if not for a Manny Pacquiao, Juan Manuel Marquez, Ricky Hatton, and the rest of the lighter guys who manned up to fill the void of the heavyweight division. It was way different back then. I remember my grandfather telling me that he once knew someone from Angola who crossed the border of Congo to watch Ali and Foreman square it off. The surprising thing is that the entrance was free! What a way to pumo a crowd up. ALI BOMAYE!

A good match would really cost your wallet some bucks nowadays. The Pacquiao-Hatton East vs West match accumulated more than 100million pesos in revenues on all around the Philippines. I watched my first taste of Manny payperview on the Pacquiao-Morales II. After so many fights, I was already hooked on watching it live. Either via the internet or the cinema, I just want it live with no interuption. It just breaks the mood of the fight when you mix redundant advertising to your pugilistic craving.

For a couple of weeks now, I’ve done more than watching pugilistic actions but rather started training like one. I have spent days in the Elorde gym in Shaw throwing some jabs, cross, straight uppercuts with a whole lot of dancing and a whole lot of sweating. After doing some warm up, two rounds of skip rope, two rounds of double end bag, two rounds of speed bag, two rounds of heavy bag, two rounds wall bag, three rounds of punch mitts and whole lot of plyometrics exercises. At first I was struggling with form carrying only brute as I hit the mitts, the bag or whatever it is to hit. After a couple of sessions, I am getting the hang of it from form to stamina. Though still not fit even for a four round chaos, at least I am having some improvement.

Having the form to go to a sparring session is what I want to have. A few weeks more, or months, who knows. Until then, I will be stacking the rounds to make me meet that bell.

2 responses

  1. wow dude boxing analyst ka na ha. hahahaha.

    May 12, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  2. unidentifiedwalkingobject

    dude, nagtry ako once hahaha di ako natanggap hahahahha! frustrated ako hahahahhaha

    May 12, 2009 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

